top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatasha Zimmers

The Salish Sea - 50 Precious Words 2021

Updated: Jun 4

I love the opportunity to stretch my skills when writing within the rules of a contest. This one was really fun - Tell a whole story in 50 words or fewer.


I'd been chatting about wildlife encounters, and remembered the time a pod of orcas surfaced on all sides of the small ferry I was on. I added some wishful thinking, and put my characters in kayaks for an even closer encounter.


I hope you enjoy my tiny story!


(These are the best photos I could find - a more distanced view on a ferry ride through the Salish Sea.)






(This story received an honourable mention in the Action/Adventure category in 2021!)





The Salish Sea (48 words)


Rippling waves,

sparkling sun.

We’re floating,

boating,

drifting on the Salish Sea


Spouting plumes,

approaching fins.

Orcas veering,

nearing,

cruising through the Salish Sea.

Leaping high,

splashing down.

Orcas playing,

spraying,

diving in the Salish Sea


Holding breath,

paddling halts.

We’re amazed,

dazed,

awestruck on the Salish Sea.


142 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page